如何学习——陷阱和成功秘诀:第 2 部分

兰斯·金(Lance King)

老师很少教的关键事情,学生经常犯错,这会对你的学习效率和效率产生巨大影响

现在你坐下来做实际的研究。你打算怎么做?

第 5 步:
你如何选择“学什么”? 研究 表明你所承受的压力会影响你对学习内容的选择,往往对你不利。在压力较小的情况下,学生往往会选择学习他们觉得难以理解的东西,而在时间压力较大的情况下,学生往往会优先考虑相对容易的项目,即那些最容易学习的项目。
这意味着评估压力倾向于促使学生记住简单的信息,而不是理解更深层次的概念,如果测试或考试测试的是真正的理解而不是回忆,这可能是灾难性的。
小心那个陷阱!确保你有意选择学习那些对实现你的学术目标最重要的项目、概念和主题,而不是最容易学习的。
请注意,当您开始学习任何新事物时,您总是处于理解的楔形边缘和难度的楔形厚端。所以学习这件事永远不会比一开始更难。它总是会变得更好。

那么现在,你打算如何学习?你们都有自己的信息处理和总结策略,比如思维导图、彩色笔记、录音和重放音频笔记、写作和重写、多源、使用视频、喜欢的主题网站等,但有一些关键技术可以极大地影响您可能不知道的理解和保留。 [如果您在制作学习笔记方面需要帮助,请访问 LALATAT 语言技能 - 从文本创建摘要注释, 和 从演示文稿创建摘要说明]

第一个是分组与间隔研究——哪个效果最好?在一个学习时间段内,最好学习所有相同的材料还是混合学习不同的主题?在一 经典实验 要求受试者在对每位艺术家的特征进行培训后准确识别(以前未见过的)不同艺术家的画作。一些科目的培训包括展示每位艺术家的收集画作,而其他科目则展示不同艺术家的交错画作。
结果表明,78% 的参与者在随机展示绘画时比在艺术家块中展示绘画更准确地了解艺术家的特征。这清楚地表明,间隔重复或混合主题会产生更大的学习效果,但最有趣的是,只有 22% 的参与者认为他们在随机条件下做得更好。
这非常重要,因为它表明在学习新材料时,我们认为分块学习(例如,一起研究所有不同的宏观经济模型,或一起研究所有原核细菌等)将导致更好的理解和记忆而将这种材料与其他相关但不相似的材料交织在一起实际上会产生更好的结果。
看起来我们认为学习交错材料需要更多的注意力,会更难,需要更长的时间,因此效果会更差,但实际上它更有效,更高效。
所以第4步是选择混合项目在任何一个学习期间学习。它们可以是同一学科内的不同项目,也可以是完全不同的学科。

第二种技术是间隔审查。
神经科学现在已经证实了 Hermann Ebbinghaus 在 1885 年的发现。只要对信息进行分阶段审查,就可以极大地改善对信息的记忆,高达 100% 的回忆。诀窍是让复习的时间适合人脑的连接系统。 [看 间隔重复 - 技术指南 如果你感兴趣]
在实际学习中,您需要确保:

  1. 每天学习时,您都在用自己的笔记制作技巧总结每个科目的要点。
  2. 一旦您完成了对主题的良好总结,您就需要进行第一次审查。为此,您可以通读摘要并大声将所有摘要点用您自己的话重新变成句子。
  3. 对于你还不明白的任何部分,回到源头,再抽出几个词添加到你的总结中,然后再次向自己解释那部分。
  4. 在完成摘要后的 24 小时内再次查看它并用你自己的话再次向自己解释。
  5. 在你第一次做总结一周后,再看一遍,用你自己的话再给自己解释一遍。

[要学习如何有效地复习课堂笔记和学习笔记,请参阅 LALATAT 学习技巧 – 记忆技巧]

然后你就可以开始测试自己了。

自测是大多数学生没有意识到的最后一项技术。

自我测试可能是一种非常有效的学习策略,尤其是为了长期保留(见 罗迪格和卡尔皮克,2006).您希望这三组中的哪一组能更好地记住?学习材料4次的学生(SSSS),学习3次并测试一次的学生(SSST),以及学习一次并测试3次的学生(STTT)?
本研究的结果是,与SSSS学生相比,SSST学生回忆38%更好,忘记100%少,STTT学生回忆50%更好,忘记270%少!!
自我测试是至关重要的,它将极大地提高你的学习效率(见 学得更好,学得更多).

因此,请确保作为每天学习新材料的一部分,您还始终对以前所学的内容进行自我测试。适当的测试 - 没有作弊!

这些是许多学生没有意识到的有效、高效学习的基础。实施这里建议的内容肯定会提高你的学业成绩。
我保证。

有效学习的其余工作包括专注、毅力、决心、韧性和失败。这些主题在学习如何学习方面同样重要,将在下一篇博客中介绍。

作为 比约克 (2001) 和其他人争辩说,在瞬息万变和复杂的世界中生存的关键是学习如何学习。然而,成为元认知复杂的学习者的任务绝非易事。它需要违背您之前可能认为有效的某些做法,并安装新的策略,这些策略起初可能看起来非常结构化和“有机”。请记住,此博客中的所有内容都有证据支持,并且与现代神经科学一致,但布丁的证据在于饮食。
试试这里的建议,看看它是否能提高你的学习成绩。

我想你会惊喜的。

还要记住,很少有学生—— 五分之一 在校学生和 20% 加州大学洛杉矶分校学生 - 报告曾被教导如何学习。

这意味着,如果您按照概述实施良好的学习策略,您将比没有这样做的学生具有巨大的优势。

无论优化一个人的学习活动有多困难,鉴于教育世界的变化,这样做从未如此重要。在可预见的未来,将越来越重视基于 Web 的学习、远程学习、混合课程和终身学习,所有这些都更加重视有效管理自己学习的能力。

滚动到顶部

How to Study – Pitfalls and Success Secrets: Part 2

By Lance King

The key things that teachers rarely teach and students often get wrong that can make a huge difference to the effectiveness and efficiency of your study

Now you are sitting down to do the actual study. How are you going to do that?

Step 5:
How do you choose ‘what’ to study? Research shows that the pressure you are under will influence your choice of what to study, often to your detriment. Under low pressure students will tend to choose to study the things they find difficult to understand but under high time pressure students tend to give high priority to relatively easy items, those items that are most readily learnable.
Which means that assessment pressure tends to push students towards memorisation of simple information rather than understanding of deeper concepts which can be catastrophic if the test or exam is testing real understanding rather than recall.
Be aware of that trap! Make sure you deliberately choose to study those items, concepts, subject matter that are most significant for achieving your academic goal, not the easiest ones to learn.
Be aware that when you start studying anything new you are always at the thin end of the wedge for understanding and the thick end of the wedge for difficulty. So learning this thing will never be harder than it is at the very beginning. It will always get better.

So now, how are you going to study? You will all have your own strategies for information processing and summarising like mindmaps, colourful notes, recording and replaying audio-notes, writing and rewriting, multiple sources, using videos, favourite subject websites etc. but there are some key technologies that can greatly influence your understanding and retention that you may not be aware of. [If you need help with making study notes go to LALATAT Language Skills – Create Summary Notes from Text, and Create Summary Notes from Presentations]

The first is block vs spaced study – which works best? In one study-time period is it best to study all the same material or to study different topics mixed together? In one classic experiment subjects were required to accurately identify (previously unseen) paintings by different artists after training in the characteristics of each artist. The training for some subjects involved being shown collected paintings of each artist in blocks and the others were shown interleaved paintings by different artists.
The results showed that 78% of participants learned the characteristics of artists more accurately if shown paintings randomised than if shown paintings in artist blocks. This clearly demonstrates that spaced repetition or mixing up subject matter produces greater effectiveness of learning but most interestingly only 22% of the participants thought they had done better in the randomised condition.
This is very important because it suggests that when learning new material we think that studying in blocks (eg. studying all the different macro-economic models together, or all of the procaryotic bacteria together etc.) is going to result in better understanding and retention whereas interleaving this material with other related but not similar material will actually produce better results.
It appears that we think that studying interleaved material will require more concentration, will be more difficult and will take longer and so will be less effective when in fact it is both more effective and more efficient.
So Step 4 is to select mixed items to study in any one study period. They can be different items within the same subject for study or from different subjects altogether.

The second technology is spaced review.
Neuroscience has now confirmed what Hermann Ebbinghaus discovered in 1885. That memory for information can be improved enormously, up to 100% recall, simply by putting in place staged reviews of information. The trick is to make the timings of review suit the connection making system of the human brain. [See Spaced Repetition – A guide to the technique if you are interested]
In practical terms for your study you need to make sure that:

  1. Each day when you are studying you are making summaries of main points in each subject with your own note making technique.
  2. As soon as you have finished making a good summary of a topic you need to do your first review. You do this by reading through your summary and out loud turn all your summary points back into sentences, in your own words.
  3. For any parts you don’t yet understand, go back to the source and pull out a few more words to add to your summary then explain that part to yourself again.
  4. Within 24 hours of making the summary look at it again and explain it to yourself again, in your own words.
  5. One week after you made the summary the first time, look at it again and explain it to yourself again, in your own words.

[To learn how to review classroom notes and study notes effectively see LALATAT Study Skills – Memory Techniques]

Then you can start testing yourself.

Self-testing is the last technology that most students don’t realise the benefits of.

Self-testing can be a very effective study strategy, especially in the interest of long-term retention (see Roediger & Karpicke, 2006). Which of these three groups would you expect to remember better? Students who studied material 4 times (SSSS), students who studied it three times and were tested once (SSST), and students who studied it once and were tested 3 times (STTT)?
The results of this study were that compared with the SSSS students, the SSST students recalled 38% better and forgot 100% less and the STTT students recalled 50% better and forgot 270% less!!
Self-testing is vital and will increase the effectiveness of your study enormously (see Learning Better, Learning More).

So make sure as part of every day of studying new material that you always also test yourself on what you have covered previously. Proper testing – no cheating!

Those are the basics of effective, efficient study that many students don’t realise. Implementing what is suggested here will definitely improve your academic results.
I guarantee it.

The rest of the job of effective studying involves concentration, perseverance, determination, resilience and failing well. These topics are equally important in learning how to learn and will be covered in the next blogs.

As Bjork (2001) and others have argued, the key to surviving in an ever more rapidly changing and complex world is learning how to learn. However, the task of becoming a metacognitively sophisticated learner is far from simple; it requires going against certain practices you might have previously have thought were effective and installing new strategies that might seem very structured and ‘in-organic’ at first. Just remember that everything in this blog is backed up with evidence and is congruent with modern neuroscience but the proof of the pudding is in the eating.
Just try what has been suggested here and see if it improves your academic performance.

I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

And also remember that very few students – one in five school students and 20% of UCLA students – report ever having been taught how to learn.

This means that if you put in place good studying strategies as outlined you will have an enormous advantage over students who don’t.

However difficult optimizing one’s learning activities may be, doing so has never been more important, given the changing world of education. For the foreseeable future, there will be an increased emphasis on Web-based learning, remote learning, blended courses, and lifelong learning, all of which place an increased emphasis on the ability to manage your own learning effectively.

Scroll to Top