如何学习——陷阱和成功秘诀:第 1 部分

兰斯·金(Lance King)

老师很少教的关键事情,学生经常犯错,这会对你的学习效率和效率产生巨大影响

第一个问题是学习什么、何时、在哪里以及如何学习?

但首先总是有一个为什么? (为什么?如果你有兴趣,请看 Simon Sinek 从为什么开始)

对于大多数人来说,学习是为了实现特定的学术目标而在需要时进行的事情。学习不是我们倾向于用这个词来描述我们正在研究、调查阅读或做的事情,仅仅是因为我们从中获得了极大的乐趣。我们“研究”的那些东西从来没有计算过所需的努力成本,因为它们具有内在的激励作用。作为 丹粉红 指出内在动机的三个关键是:

  1. 自主性——当我们可以完全选择对什么感兴趣并且我们完全出于自己的原因选择“学习”某些东西时。
  2. 精通——我们相信精通这对我们自己有益,我们可以注意到我们自己在精通方面的渐进进步。
  3. 目的——我们可以看到这样做的首要原因,它与我们自己的关键价值观非常吻合。

如果你有自主权、掌控力和目标,那么你就有了为什么?
这是你在你最喜欢的运动或你最喜欢的游戏中进行的那种学习,希望在你最喜欢的科目和你最喜欢的老师那里学习。但是学校里的大部分学习都不是那种性质,是吗?您为学校和大学所做的大部分研究都是在需要时完成,以实现特定的学术目标。因此,如果没有内在激励因素的好处,我们需要依靠自己的技能和努力,并且需要在有用的地方使用外部激励因素。

有趣的是,粉红色表明外部激励因素(如金星、成绩、分数、分数、金钱、声望、成就表扬)在解决简单任务时能很好地提高生产力,但对于需要独立思考和概念理解的困难任务,外部激励因素直接减少生产率。

最有效的学习对最具挑战性和难度的材料产生最高水平的理解和保留总是以目标为导向,精心计划和定期但从学生的反应中可以清楚地看出,大多数学习计划主要是由危机驱动的,例如即将到来的期中考试,而不是通过系统的决策。当学生被问到他们是如何决定的 下一步学什么, 59% 选择了“Whatever's due Soon/overdue”,只有 11% 选择了“我提前计划好我的学习计划”。

但这些理由仍然是很好的理由,你可以用它们来帮助你产生能量和驱动力。重要的是要非常清楚你为什么要进行这项研究。你最想要的结果是什么?你能想象它,在你的脑海里看到它,把它弄得很清楚吗? 那是第 1 步。

所以如果这就是你的现实,你正在学习一些东西,因为你需要学习——理解并记住这个东西,以便通过一些评估、作业、测试或考试,那么关键问题是你的可控因素是什么?即使在最后一刻的危机情况下,您可以利用哪些杠杆来提高信息处理效率以及对关键概念和应用程序的理解和保留?
只有两种:

  1. 你付出了多少努力,以及
  2. 你使用什么策略。

第2步:
为了产生实现您想要的生活所需的努力,您需要有目标,并且这些目标需要统一以实现更高的目标。写目标的方法有很多种,但在这里重要的不是写目标,而是实现目标。只要您使用经过深思熟虑和设计的规划系统,该系统采用当今可用的最佳策略,就可以实现您的所有目标。
这需要是您的下一步。使用可用的结构 LALATAT 组织技能——实现长期目标 规划您所有学术目标的实现——以及您拥有的任何其他生活目标。

第 3 步:
如果您正在为特定的考试或考试而学习,您的下一个任务将是创建考试学习时间表。执行中的所有步骤 LALATAT 学习技巧 – 考试学习时间表.

第四步:
一旦您在自己的脑海中清楚了目标的所有参数,您就可以开始计划您的时间。时间管理的诀窍是安排好时间来帮助避免恐慌、危机和“通宵”。你可能认为你会在第二天凌晨 3 点完成最好的工作,但大多数人在他们可以花时间彻底完成时,会做出更深思熟虑、质量更好的工作(获得更好的成绩) .
这是您的下一步 - 通过完成以下练习,学习如何计划完成任务、分配、主题截止日期和“待办事项”列表的时间 LALATAT 组织技能 - 时间和任务管理.

滚动到顶部

How to Study – Pitfalls and Success Secrets: Part 1

By Lance King

The key things that teachers rarely teach and students often get wrong that can make a huge difference to the effectiveness and efficiency of your study

The first questions are what, when, where and how to study?

But first there is always a Why? (Why Why? If you’re interested see Simon Sinek Start with Why)

For most people study is something that is done when it is needed in order to achieve specific academic goals. Study is not a term we tend to use for things that we are researching, investigating reading about or doing simply because we gain great enjoyment from doing so. Those things we ‘study’ without ever counting the cost of the effort required because they are intrinsically motivating. As Dan Pink points out the three keys to intrinsic motivation are:

  1. Autonomy – when we have full choice as to what to be interested in and we are choosing to ‘study’ something entirely for our own reasons.
  2. Mastery – we believe mastery of this will be beneficial to ourselves and we can notice our own incremental progress towards mastery.
  3. Purpose – we can see an overarching reason for doing this that aligns well with our own key values.

If you have autonomy, mastery and purpose then you have your Why?
This is the kind of learning you do in your favourite sport or your favourite game, and hopefully in your favourite subject and with your favourite teacher. But most learning at school is not of that nature is it? Most of the study you will do for school and university is done when it is needed in order to achieve specific academic goals. So without the benefit of intrinsic motivators to make it easy for us we need to rely on our own skills and effort and we need to use external motivators where they are useful.

Interestingly enough Pink shows that external motivators (like gold stars, grades, scores, marks, money, prestige, praise for achievement) work well for improving productivity in solving simple tasks but with difficult tasks requiring independent thought and conceptual understanding, external motivators directly decrease productivity.

The most effective study producing the highest levels of understanding and retention of the most challenging and difficult material is always goal oriented, well planned and regular but it is clear from students’ responses that most study schedules are driven largely by crises, such as an upcoming midterm exam, rather than by systematic decision making. When students were asked how they decided what to study next, 59% chose “Whatever’s due soonest/overdue” and only 11% chose “I plan my study schedule ahead of time”.

But those reasons are still perfectly good Why’s and you can use them to help you generate energy and drive. The important thing is to be very clear about exactly why you are doing this study. What is your most desirable outcome? Can you imagine it, see it in your mind, get very clear about it? That’s Step 1.

So if that is your reality, you are studying something because you need to learn – understand and retain this thing in order to pass some assessment, assignment, test or exam, then the key question is what are your controllable factors? What are the levers that you can pull to improve the efficiency of your information processing and the understanding and retention of key concepts and applications even in a last-minute, crisis situation?
There are only two:

  1. how much effort you put in, and
  2. what strategies you use.

Step 2:
To generate the effort needed to achieve what you want in life you need to have goals and those goals need to be unified towards achieving a higher purpose. There are all sorts of ways of writing goals but it is not writing goals that is important here it is achieving goals. Achieving all your goals is possible as long as you use a well thought out and designed planning system that uses the best strategies available today.
This needs to be your next step. Use the structure available in LALATAT Organization Skills – Achieve Long Term Goals to plan out the achievement of all your academic goals – as well as any other life goals you have.

Step 3:
if you are studying for a specific test or examination, your next task will be to create an exam study timetable. Follow through all the steps in LALATAT Study Skills – Exam Study Timetabling.

Step 4:
Once you have all the parameters of your goal clear in your own mind then you can start planning your time. The trick with time management is putting in well planned time to help avoid panics, crises and ‘all-nighters’. You may think that you produce your best work at 3am when it is due in the next day but most human beings produce more well thought out, better quality work (that earns better grades) when they can take their time over it and do it thoroughly.
This is your next step – learn how to plan out your time for completing tasks, assignments, subject deadlines and ‘To-Do’ lists by working through the exercises in LALATAT Organization Skills – Time and Task Management.

Scroll to Top