IB ATL:在PYP教室中促进自我管理(与ManageBac合作编写)

比安卡·杜塞普(Bianca Duceppe)

在过去的一年中,ATL技能教学在虚拟学习环境中具有特殊意义。大流行迫使教师对学生的学习方式进行更深入的思考。大流行还使教师认识到学习是一个过程,在这个过程中,他们必须在教学实践中投入时间和精力,以帮助年轻人意识到最适合自己的学习策略,而不是最适合自己的学习策略。以及那些可以改进的地方。

IB ATL技能框架为学生提供了一百多种可供选择的行动,以使其在学术上和生活中取得更大的成功,并且这些活动分布在广泛的技能中,这些技能结合了基本技能和更复杂的技能。我可以从较高的层次上讲,只要满足您坐在前面的年轻人的需求,所有ATL技能都是同等重要和有用的。

但是,就技能发展而言,您的学生最重要的需求是什么?您如何映射这些技能,以及如何确保明确地介绍它们?此外,您如何在此过程中支持您的老师?这些是您的学校在开始基于ATL技能的计划之前应解决的基本问题。听起来似乎很明显,但是许多人倾向于跳过这些急需的准备步骤,而实现的成功取决于此。

就本博客而言,我建议我们直接通过感官意识来学习自我管理技能。

让我们尝试一下

请注意!

  • 使用策略来支持集中注意力和克服干扰。
  • 注意身体与心灵的联系。

目的

这种策略鼓励学生在学习如何注意自己的思维和情感时发展和提高自我管理能力,并在需要时利用这种意识来保持专注和集中。

指示

说明在此活动中,每个人都将有机会注意他们如何注意到自己的感官意识。

  1. 要求学生花一点时间停下来,安静地坐着,因为您希望他们一次扫描所有的感官,以体验每种感官。
  2. 向他们提出以下问题:注意您周围看到的某些事物,您可以听到的某些事物,闻到的气味,口中的味道,您的皮肤上的感觉以及您现在注意到的有关情绪的一些事情。在每个问题之间稍作停顿。
  3. 让一些学生与全班同学分享他们的感官意识。
  4. 在一些学生自愿分享之后,问他们通常是否知道周围的所有这些事情。为什么不是这样?说明我们的大脑通过我们的每种感觉每秒获取大量信息,但我们仅关注其中的一些信息。
  5. 每天花一点时间练习此练习,以帮助学生自我调节自己的身体感觉,并意识到当他们分心时需要解决的问题。
  6. 为了进行更准确的自我评估:
    1. 邀请学生使用由班级共同构建的自我评估卡来定期判断他们的学习能力,每张卡片附有两至三个专栏,并附有视觉图像,以支持信息之间的关联。在技能开发的每个阶段(1-新手,2-学习者,3-从业者和4-专家)都有一张卡片。
    2. 将四个正方形散布在地板上(每个阶段一个正方形),让学生在最能代表其熟练水平的正方形中前进。
    3. 指出,如果伙伴选择去同一个广场,他们可能有共同点。让他们分享这些东西。
    4. 提出自我反省的问题:您想继续/开始/停止采取哪些行动来提高您的感官意识?为什么注意自己的想法很重要? ETC。

早期的补充活动

  1. 围成一圈,聚集学生,回顾专注和集中注意力以及意识到我们自己的思想和情感的含义。提醒全班,每个人都有许多方法可以学习如何提高专注力。设置一个专注于感官意识的游戏,该游戏会根据年龄段而有所不同。
  2. 让一半的学生挑选一个专注力和专注力卡(在视觉支持下为每种感官准备一张卡),并告诉他们他们将在比赛中使用该卡向没有卡的伴侣提问。事先分享一些有关如何使用卡片的想法,例如,用耳朵拿出卡片,然后说:您听到了什么?
  3. 该小组的另一半-没有卡片-将被问一个问题,需要花一点时间来停顿,扫描这种特定的感觉,并使用“当我停下来停顿时,我听到…”这样的回答来回答问题。
  4. 开始游戏,让他们四处走走。根据您的信号(拍子,拍手,课堂格言等),将它们成对重新分组,确保每对中至少有一个学生持卡。
  5. 给他们几分钟时间来询问并回答他们的感官意识问题,并互相帮助,从而使他们更加了解我们可以通过每种感官和情感获得的所有信息。
  6. 经过几轮后,召集全班讨论经验。问:您最有力的感觉是什么,需要解决的问题。

适应虚拟学习环境

如果您想记录他们的回答(音频或视频),请学生将其发现发布在Padlet或Flipgrid上。您还可以邀请他们使用Kidpick,Random Name Selector Pro或StickPick等名称选择器应用程序直接回答您的问题。

扩大

每天向学生提问一个星期(例如一个星期),使他们的日常感官成为日常活动。以下是一些您可能会问到的问题的示例:

  • 第一天 –查看我在屏幕上共享的内容。问:您眼中出现了什么?然后,请学生再次注意,看看他们错过了什么,然后问:您的眼睛还有什么?他们应该提出新的想法。
  • 第二天 –触摸诸如毛衣之类的材料。注意它给您的感觉。现在触摸你的头发。这两件事有什么区别?
  • 第三天 –听我将与您分享的声音。您能识别出它是什么吗?我将开始阅读一个故事,看看您是否可以一直专注到最后。很难保持专注吗?您是否有开始考虑其他事情的倾向?您可以采取哪些策略来提高自己的注意力和练习克服分散注意力的想法?例如,利用您的想象力在脑海中拍照片,以表达我在告诉您的故事。
  • 第四天 –让学生带上一块巧克力或浆果,并邀请他们将其放在嘴里而不要咬它,只是要注意它在舌头,上颚等处产生的感觉。然后,让他们开始慢慢咀嚼并注意到它释放的味道。请他们集中注意力分享他们的饮食感觉。
  • 第五天 –拿起橡皮擦,使其靠近您的鼻子。您如何描述气味?

总体而言,您最能使自己回到专注状态的哪个盟友?哪一个是最具挑战性的?

根据老师收到的反馈,通常将这种特定技能描述为易于教授,并且许多人认为自己在教授该技能时处于专家级别。每天练习和提高这项特定技能对提高学生的注意力和集中度(他们的自言自语),提高他们对他人的认识并更好地与周围的世界联系非常有帮助。

滚动到顶部

IB ATLs: Fostering Self-Management in PYP Classrooms (written in collaboration with ManageBac)

By Bianca Duceppe

During the past year, teaching ATL Skills has taken on a special meaning in the virtual learning environment. The pandemic forces teachers to think deeper on how students learn. The pandemic also leads teachers to realize that learning to learn is a process, in which they must invest time and energy in their teaching practices to help young people become aware of the learning strategies that work best for them, those that do not work for them and those that can be improved.

The IB ATL Skills Framework offers more than a hundred choices of actions that students could take to better succeed academically and in their life, and this is spread over a broad spectrum of skills combining basic ones with more complex ones. I can say, at a high level, that all ATL skills are equally important and useful as long as they meet the needs of the young people sitting in front of you.

But what are your students’ most important needs in terms of skill development? How do you map these skills and how do you make sure to introduce them explicitly? In addition, how do you support your teachers in that process? These are basic questions that your school should address before embarking on an ATL skilled-based programme. It may sound obvious, but many tend to skip these much-needed preparatory steps while the success of their implementation depends on it.

For the purposes of this blog, I suggest we dive right into the teaching of a Self-Management Skill through Sensory Awareness.

Let’s Try it Out

Your attention please!

  • Use strategies to support concentration and overcome distractions.
  • Be aware of body-mind connections.

Purpose

This strategy encourages students to develop and improve their self-management skills as they learn how to notice their own thinking and emotions, and use that awareness to stay focused and concentrated when they need to.

Instructions

Explain that in this activity, everyone will have a chance to pay attention to how they notice their sensory awareness.

  1. Ask students to take a moment to pause, sit quietly, as you want them to scan all their senses one at a time, to experience every sense.
  2. Ask them the following questions: notice some things you see around you, some things you can hear, smell, taste in your mouth, feel on your skin, some things you notice about your emotions right now. Take a short pause between each question.
  3. Get some students to share their sensory awareness to the rest of the class.
  4. After a few students have volunteered to share, ask them if they are normally aware of all these things around them. Why is this not so? Explain that our brain gets a lot of information at every second through each of our senses, but we only pay attention to some of it.
  5. Find a moment to practice this exercise every day to help students self-regulate their sensations in their body and be aware of the ones that need to be fixed when they become a distraction.
  6. For a more accurate self-assessment:
    1. Invite students to regularly judge their learning skill proficiency by using self-assessment cards co-constructed by the class – with two to three rubrics per card and some visual to support associations between pieces of information. Have one card for each stage of a skill development (1-Novice, 2-Learner, 3-Practitioner and 4-Expert).
    2. Scatter four squares on the floor – one for each stage – and have students march in the square that most represents their skill level of proficiency.
    3. Point out that if buddies chose to go to the same square, they probably have something in common. Have them share those things.
    4. Ask self-reflection questions: What actions would you like to continue/start/stop doing to improve your sensory awareness? Why is it important to notice your own thinking? Etc.

Supplemental activity for Early Years

  1. Gather students in a circle and review what it means to be focused and concentrated and to be aware of our own thinking and emotions. Remind the class that there are many ways in which each person can learn how to improve concentration. Set a game that focuses on sensory awareness with different variations according to age group.
  2. Ask half of the students to pick a Focus and Concentration card (prepare cards for each sense with visual support) and tell them that they will use it during the game to ask a question to a partner that doesn’t have a card. Share some ideas on how to use the cards beforehand, e.g. show the card with an ear and say: what do you hear?
  3. The other half of the group – without a card – will be asked a question and will take a moment to pause, scan this specific sense and answer the question using a response like “When I stop and pause, I hear…”.
  4. Start the game and have them walk around. At your signal (beat, claps, class motto, etc.), have them regroup in pairs, making sure there is at least one student with a card in each pair.
  5. Give them a few minutes to ask and respond to their sensory awareness question and help one another, becoming more aware of all the information we can get through each of our senses and emotions.
  6. After several rounds, gather the class to discuss the experience.  Ask: what is your most powerful sense and the one that needs some fixing.

Adaptations for a virtual learning environment

Invite students to post their findings on Padlet or through Flipgrid if you want to record their responses (audio or video). You can also invite them to answer your questions directly using name selector apps like Kidpick, Random Name Selector Pro or StickPick.

Extension

Make sensory awareness a daily routine by asking students one question a day, say for one week. Here are some examples of questions you could ask:

  • Day 1 – Look at what I shared on my screen. Ask: what comes to your eyes? Then, invite students to pay attention again to see what they have missed and ask: what else comes to your eyes? They should come up with new ideas.
  • Day 2 – Touch the material of something such as your sweater. Notice the sensation it gives you. Now touch your hair. What is the difference between these two things?
  • Day 3 – Listen to the sound I will share with you. Are you able to identify what it is? I will start reading a story and see if you can stay focused until the end. Was it hard to stay focused? Do you have the tendency to start thinking about other things? What strategies can you do to improve your concentration and practice overcoming distracting thoughts? For example, use your imagination to make pictures inside your head to represent the story I am telling you.
  • Day 4 – Have your students bring a piece of chocolate or a berry and invite them to place it in their mouth without biting it, just to pay attention to the sensations that it creates on their tongue, on their palate, etc. Then, have them begin to chew it slowly and notice the flavours it releases. Ask them to share their sensations of eating with such focused attention.
  • Day 5 – Pick your eraser and bring it close to your nose. How can you describe the smell?

Overall, which of your senses would be your best ally in bringing you back to a state of concentration? Which one would be the most challenging?

Based on feedback received by teachers, this specific skill is generally described as easy to teach and many consider themselves to be at the Expert level when it comes to teaching it. Practising and improving this specific skill on a daily basis can be very helpful in sharpening students’ focus and concentration – their self-talk – to increase their awareness of others and to better connect with the world around them.

Scroll to Top